EBC Stage 5 Brake Rotor and Pad Kit or ???

Post whatever here.

Moderator: TJDave

Rottwheeler

EBC Stage 5 Brake Rotor and Pad Kit or ???

Postby Rottwheeler » Mon Oct 12, 2015 1:23 pm

Need new/better brakes for my LJ and am about to buy EBC's Stage 5 superstreet front brake kit which includes 78mm drilled and slotted rotors and yellow stuff pads. Just curious if you all have any experience with these or recommend something else?
Rottwheeler
White 13' JKU Rubicon, 3.5" Rubicon Express Super Flex suspension, 3:73s, 35" Nittos on American Racing ATX black faux bead locks... for now.

TJDave
Peak Putters VP
Peak Putters VP

Postby TJDave » Mon Oct 12, 2015 3:05 pm

I have no experience with EBC pads, but I have read many times that slotted rotors on a Jeep that sees mud and dust is not recommend.

I have Blaine Johnson's Black Magic pads and Centric rotors on mine. He designs a lot of stuff for Savvy and Currie and came out with his own brand of pads a few years ago. Without going to a spendy big brake kit, I think this is the way to go for up to 35" tires.

The difference is night and day compared to my stock brakes.

Follow the break in instructions carefully if you decide on going with these.

http://www.shop.blackmagicbrakes.com/Fr ... -67045.htm
2018 JLU Rubicon
Tow bar mount
Trailer hitch

Rottwheeler

Postby Rottwheeler » Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:32 pm

TJDave wrote:I have no experience with EBC pads, but I have read many times that slotted rotors on a Jeep that sees mud and dust is not recommend.

I have Blaine Johnson's Black Magic pads and Centric rotors on mine. He designs a lot of stuff for Savvy and Currie and came out with his own brand of pads a few years ago. Without going to a spendy big brake kit, I think this is the way to go for up to 35" tires.

The difference is night and day compared to my stock brakes.

Follow the break in instructions carefully if you decide on going with these.

http://www.shop.blackmagicbrakes.com/Fr ... -67045.htm